2 Answers

  1. It is customary to divide Kant's work into “subcritical” and “critical” periods. The latter is described as a period of ” awakening from dogmatic slumber.” This turnaround occurred sometime in the 70s. At this time (about 10 years) Kant is working on his main work, The Critique of Pure Reason, which was published in 1781.�It is worth starting to get acquainted with Kant's Critics in the order in which they were written:

    Critique of Pure Reason (1781)
    Critique of Practical Reason (1788)
    Criticism of the Faculty of Judgment (1790)

    To understand the complex text of the first Critique, it will be useful to read in parallel the relevant sections of the Prolegomena to Any Future Metaphysics, which were written by Kant in order to explain the main work.�

    An important and, according to some reviews, brilliant text was written between the first and second Critics – “Fundamentals to the metaphysics of morals”. The book precedes Kant's systematic teaching on law, expounded in 1797 in the Metaphysics of Morals.

    It is impossible not to mention Kant's article ” The Answer to the question: What is Enlightenment?”, published in 1784. This question, as well as the answer, remain relevant even now.

  2. M. Mamardashvili says that Kant's ” big books “(“Critics”) are written in “the terrible language of the German school”, while he has small works executed in “the beautiful language of European philosophy”. These are the aforementioned essays on Enlightenment, “What It Means to Orient Oneself in Thinking, “” The Dispute between Faculties, “and others.The” spirit “of Kant's critical philosophy is no less in them than the” letters “of this philosophy are in the Critics. “Chronology” as a principle of reading is certainly not useless and is especially good for the history of philosophy. But the study of the history of philosophy, as warned by M. Heidegger does not bring us closer to understanding philosophy, but creates the illusion of mastering it…�

    Good luck!!! 😉

Leave a Reply